ISM celebrated its 10th international gathering with a workshop and design and construction seminar in Washington, DC, in September 2010. The workshop was organized in DC to acknowledge the contributions of ISM’s founding sponsor, the Federal Highway Administration. Over 80 members from 9 countries participated in the technical presentations, discussions and healthy debate on all aspects of micropile technology. The local Organizing Committee for the workshop included Dr. Terry Holman (Chair, Moretrench American Corporation), Joe Cavey (Hayward Baker) Dan MacLean (CON-TECH Systems), and Fred Tarquinio (Nicholson Construction Company). Dr. Jesús Gómez and Helen Robinson of Schnabel Engineering chaired the one-day seminar on advanced micropile design and construction.

Dipl.-Ing. Ernst Ischebeck, technical director of Friedr. Ischebeck in Ennepetal, Germany, delivered the 6th Lizzi Lecture on the “Design of Direct Drilled and Continuous Flush Grouted Micropiles TITAN.” ISM invited Ischebeck’s lecture in recognition of his significant contribution to micropile technology through the technical development and support of the use of TITAN injection bore “self drilling” bars.

Sherif Lotfy A. Abdelaziz, Ph.D. candidate from Virginia Polytechnic University in Blacksburg, VA, received the 5th Lizzi Memorial Scholarship and delivered a lecture on Virginia Tech’s ongoing research program on geothermal energy piles.

Become an ISM Member
Access the proceedings from the 14th International Workshop on Micropiles, Broadbeach, Australia, 2019
Click here...
Learn more about the DFI-ADSC Joint Micropile Committee
follow us