ISM awards the Lizzi Scholarship to graduate students to attend the International Workshop on Micropiles.

The scholarship is named for Dr. Fernando Lizzi (1913-2003), the visionary leader of ISM and the inventor of the "pali radice" or original "root pile" foundation system.

Applicants must reside in the country where the workshop is being hosted, be enrolled in graduate studies, and be either proposing to conduct or currently conducting research on micropiles.

The scholarship award includes travel and accommodations expenses for attendance at the workshop, complimentary workshop registration and a selection of micropile publications. Recipients deliver a short presentation on their research.

Lizzi Scholarship Recipients

9th Lizzi Scholarship winner, Kelly Flanagan, with Sue Frank, TEI Rock Drills
The 9th Lizzi Scholarship was presented in 2023 to Kelly Flanagan, a Ph.D. candidate and adjunct instructor at North Carolina State University, who delivered a presentation on "Interface Shear Strength Characterization between Subsea Installed Micropile Grout and Textured Rock for Micropiles Anchoring Offshore Renewable Ocean Energy Devices."

The 8th Lizzi Scholarship was presented in 2019 to Ben Brittain, Queensland University of Technology, Australia, who made a presentation on "Quality Assurance of Neat-Cement Grout."

The 7th Lizzi Scholarship recipient Maged Abdlrahem, Ph.D. candidate from Western University, delivered a presentation in 2017 about his research on the lateral performance of hollow bar micropiles in cohesionless soils.

In 2014, the 6th Lizzi Scholarship winner, Maciej Szczygielski of AGH University of Science and Technology, presented "Assessment of Soil-Micropile Interface Parameters Using 3D Numerical Modeling."

The 5th Lizzi Scholarship was awarded in 2010 to Sherif Lotfy A. Abdelaziz, Ph.D. candidate from Virginia Polytechnic University in Blacksburg, Virginia, who delivered a lecture on Virginia Tech’s ongoing research program on geothermal energy piles.

The 4th Lizzi Scholarship was presented in 2009 to James Amos of Balfour Beatty Ground Engineering, U.K. His presentation was titled, "Micropiles-The Green Choice."

The 3rd Lizzi Scholarship was awarded to Mohamed Elkasagby of the University of Western Ontario in London, ON, Canada in 2007. He presented results of his ongoing research on finite element analyses of axially loaded micropiles and a proposal for future research on static and dynamic performance of micropile groups and single micropiles.

The 2nd Lizzi Scholarship was awarded in 2006 to Stefan Vogt of the Technical University of Munich, who presented interim results from his ongoing research on the buckling of slender piles in soft soils.

The 1st Lizzi Scholarship was awarded in 2004 to Shingo Morimasa of Toyohashi University of Technology, who presented his study on the bearing capacity of foundations reinforced with prestressed micropiles.

Become an ISM Member
Access the proceedings from the 14th International Workshop on Micropiles, Broadbeach, Australia, 2019
Click here...
Learn more about the DFI-ADSC Joint Micropile Committee
follow us